Sober Thoughts: Twitter Is Weird

In case you’re new to FTF, my name is Sober and this is my OOC opinion blog. Like I’ve said before, I have been playing this game off and on for a long time. I’ve done it all. That is not to say that I know everything because at the end of the day this is a fucking game. Whatever I write about here is simply my opinion which I am absolutely open to discussing. I welcome discourse.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s get to this week’s topic which is Twitter. I started playing this game way back in 2002. I’ll never forget the year because it was the year that Brock Lesnar debuted on the main roster and every person with a “beast” character was using him as a pic base.

Back then e-feds were typically run on message boards, very few used all encompassing forums. (I forget the name of the most popular host so if anyone remembers please let me know.) You generally had a website (Geocities, Angelfire, etc.) and you had at least two separate boards; OOC and Roleplay. If you had more than one show then you might have two separate RP boards but for the most part you only had two. These roleplay boards were the only place for you to develop your character and they always had a mess of activity. Whether you wrote straight shoots or more CD oriented pieces, that was where you got to write your character.

As the years went on you started to see that dwindle. People were writing less character development roleplays, less complicated match roleplays in general actually. With forums taking over and becoming the standard, fed heads began giving handlers many more outlets to write as their character(s). Which wasn’t bad. However, it did make actual roleplays suffer as people began getting stretched too thin.

Fast forward to the introduction of Twitter.

I know that it may sound hypocritical to hate on Twitter when I am posting a link to this blog in a Tweet, it’s something that has become the standard in this game. As a fed head or even a handler, you need to have Twitter to play the game to it’s fullest. Which I understand, I think Twitter is an amazing tool when used properly.

It’s when it is used improperly is when I shake my head.

This hobby used to be about wrestling. It used to be about having a character and trying to get them to the top of their respective federation. A lot of people had crazy back stories and for the most part that added to the narrative. Some people use Twitter to further the narrative of being a professional wrestler and they do it very well.

Other people use Twitter to tell me the intimate details of their wrestlers’ lives that ultimately becomes a platform for handlers to write fan fiction about their characters being in love with each other. It turns the idea of the male soap opera into just a plain old soap opera.

And it sucks.

Feds often have the unspoken rule that everything is kayfabe, everything is real. If that is so, then if Character A constantly talks about their family and their significant other but they are scheduled to face Character B, who happens to be a complete psychopath and wants to destroy Character A, then why the hell doesn’t Character B just go find Character A significant other (who is more often than not a wrestler) and beat the shit out of them?

That may be a shitty example but I don’t really care. What I am trying to say is that these are fighters who go to war on a weekly basis, with strategy and head games being key components of victory – why are you tweeting “Can’t wait home to see my babe xoxo We are going to do so much sex”. Doesn’t that lift the veil a bit too much? To me it feels like it does a character a disservice. It changes the game from roleplaying as a wrestler to roleplaying as a completely fantastical character. To me that takes a nerdy hobby to a place that just makes it insanely weird.

I want to keep writing on this topic but I’d like to hear what you have to say. Am I being a curmudgeon or do you feel that Twitter has watered down this hobby and taken it to a very strange place.

Let me know, tweet me (I know, shut up) @FireThunderx

Thnx,

Sober

 

